When 100 is not enough

ANYBODY taking an exam should be more than happy to get a perfect score – 100 percent.

For New Zealand though, a score of 100 is just the starting point for a foreign skilled worker seeking to qualify for permanent residency.

Getting 100 points is merely a minimum qualifier to get into the common candidate pool. To be taken out of the pool and avoid candidate-hypothermia, one has to add an additional 60 points to earn an invitation to apply for permanent residency.

The current 160-point threshold to be considered for New Zealand permanent residency must be the sum of an applicant’s points for several criteria: age, education, experience, job offer, previous and completed studies or employment and bonus points for combination of two basic criteria.

Of the four Commonwealth nations—Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the UK —Canada was the first to institute a points-system selection for immigrants with the Immigration Act of 1978, replaced by the current Immigration and Refugee Protection Act of 2002.

New Zealand Immigration

The common criteria for these countries are age, English proficiency, education/ qualifications, experience, civil status (married or common-law-relationship) bonus points for having studied or worked in the country of intended migration, qualified family relationship or community connections as well as nomination by a province (Canada) or a State/Territory (Australia). Additional points are granted to resident applicants to New Zealand who have worked or lived outside Auckland as well as for qualifications or work experience in areas of absolute skills shortage or future growth area.

New Zealand’s Parliament passed the Immigration Act of 1987—resembling that of Canada—which came into effect in 1991. The 1987 Act ended New Zealand’s preference for migrants from Britain, Europe or Northern America, a selection system based on race instead of admitting migrants based on their skills, personal qualities, and potential contribution to New Zealand economy and society.

While New Zealand was the latecomer, it was the first to use the term “Expression of Interest” under its Skilled Migration category in 2009. Australia followed by setting up SkillSelect on July 1, 2012. Canada, which was a forerunner in setting standards for selection for specific occupations, later announced the Express Entry migrant selection system in January of 2015.

Migrants out of UK with Brexit
While UK’s points-based migration system was introduced in 2003—modeled on the Australian system—it was only in February 2008 that the Labor government introduced the UK’s first points-based immigration system in five tiers, the most common of which are Tier 2 for “skilled workers” from outside the EEA with a job offer in the UK and Tier 4 for students aged over 16 from outside the EEA who wish to study in the UK. Applicants must have a place at a registered UK educational establishment before they can apply.

Of late, this category has diminished in stature and importance. The Tier 4 category became the lightning rod for the campaign against immigrants leading to Brexit as then Home Secretary (now Prime Minister Theresa May) targeted non-EEA students to be part of the categories to be drastically reduced in number.

Migration figures from the Office for National Statistics show that 41,000 fewer overseas students came to the UK in the 12 months to September—three months after the Brexit vote—compared with the previous year, reflecting a substantial drop in net migration to Britain, which fell by 49,000 to 273,000 last year. Read More: manilatimes



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s